Hiking with Littles 1.0 Expectations

I’ve been out of school for about a month and in that month I’ve done a lot of hiking. Many people I know think I’m a bit crazy and many have also stated that they want to go hiking but are too afraid.  I want to post a series that includes tips and tricks about hiking with kiddos.

(Disclaimer) I’m no expert and you go out on hikes at your own risk. I take no responsibility for any crazy things that happen while out on the hikes.

So here we go:all hiking

I think the biggest thing about being afraid of hiking with littles or going out with others with kiddos is your expectations or what you think your friends expectations are. We see pictures of parents with smiling kids on social media and we think–I can’t ever do that or my kids will never behave that way.

Here is my best piece of advice when it come to expectations: Set the bar really low.

You may think I’m joking. But I’m not.

I go out with the attitude of we get where we get and when we need to turn around we do. The point is to get out. We have days where we hike an awesome 6.5 miles and others where it’s less than 1 because someone kicks their shoe in the river–TRUE STORY. And that is okay.

Also, if I ever go out with others with kids I always say I’m willing to turn around for whiny kids. No one wants to hike with whiners.

So get out there! Go for 20 minutes or 2 hours. Extend yourself some grace and be grateful for the time outdoors!

Up Next: Motivation

Leave a comment